Here’s to a new start…

Happy birthday to me! Or at least it will be in 11 days. I will be turning 25 years old. You know, that point when it really hits that you are an adult, on the cusp of beginning the true adventures of life. And for me, that is terrifying.

photo (4)

I want to start out by telling a little bit about myself. I am a Connecticut girl, born and raised. I currently go to school in Pennsylvania to become a doctor of audiology. I have a wonderful long-distance boyfriend of four years, who I will hopefully be finally living with starting this summer. *fingers crossed* It might seem like I’m someone who has their life on track and knows exactly what she wants, and for the most part I am. But I also feel as though there are some things that I have lost within myself along this path of life that I have chosen.

I used to be very active, with dance and color guard filling my world. But lately, I have been struggling to find ways to keep myself active. I’ve realized myself getting into the habit of making unhealthy eating choices, and not doing anything about it when I would look in the mirror and not like what I saw.

But, all of that is about to change. I have decided that for this years birthday, I am giving myself a birthday present that will truly make me a better person for myself. For at least the month of “Sweet November” (as my mother calls it), I will be making healthier choices on a daily basis. (Though, I will already confess to cheating on my birthday and Thanksgiving :P) There is a whole world of healthy food options waiting for me to come explore them. And I want to get active too, whether that means hitting the gym, taking a walk, or just throwing on some music and dancing it out! I just need to get in the habit of moving my body, and I know the rest will come. Baby steps.

But it doesn’t just stop there. I need to also keep myself happy with things that I enjoy doing. I love to read, do crafts (even if they turn out bad), journal, meditate, etc. Things that don’t include being a tv/netflix zombie (though I do love my tv shows.) These are things that I do for me, and I need to get back into the habit of doing them regularly.

So, for at least the next month, I will be documenting my transition into 25. It probably won’t be easy, but I will definitely try to keep it as fun and exciting as I can. Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

