Day Two: Holy Expensive Batman!

Why does trying to be healthy have to cost so much? Wow! I spent so much more at the grocery store than I usually do! But I’m not going to let that slow me down. Just have to be more aware of what I’m throwing in the cart and look for what is actually on sale.

So today really started the experimental process. Thanks to some awesome pinterest ideas, and some tweaking to match my liking, I have already come up with some staples that I feel really good about.


Lunch:

photo 1 (4)

I have come to the realization that I just do not like sandwiches. I have tried different meats, different breads, anything to make it something exciting. But, I just wasn’t into it. When I was younger, my mom used to pack cold cuts rolled up for me. So I figured I could go back to something like that. To make it a little more exciting, I rolled in some spinach and sprinkled on some salt. Pair that with a golden delicious apple and a colby jack reduced fat cheese, and you have a quick, easy, filling lunch. If I were to pack this for work or school, I would probably add in some almonds or wheat crackers or something like that, just to make it a little bit more substantial, so that I stay fuller longer.


Snack time:

photo 2 (4)

These little morsels are sinfully scrumptious, except without the sin! Thanks to Erin Chase, the $5 Dinner Mom, I now have a special treat to curb that sweet tooth, without feeling incredibly terrible about eating a whole sleeve of cookies. I actually only had one, and that was more than enough! They are rich and decadent, and chock full of protein to keep you going through that afternoon slump. I just popped the rest in the freezer, and am hoping they will last me a couple weeks. The recipe was super easy and fast.


Dinner:

photo 3 (2)

If you haven’t figured it out already, I am all about fast and easy meals. I usually get hungry really quickly, and hate having to wait around for something to cook. That is why I love rotisserie chicken! I just heated up some chicken, and then tossed a quick salad with romaine, spinach, and broccoli. Top it off with ranch, and viola!


I think to top off my evening, I gonna have a stretch block before the Walking Dead comes on!

See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

